The 5 Ethics of the Martial Arts

The traditional 5 ethics of the martial arts / Bujutsu is known as the “Dojo Kun” and in many western dojos it is known as the students creed.

The 5 Ethics are the cornerstone of martial training and can be used as a template from which to begin your training.

The 5 Ethics are:

To strive for the perfection of character,
To follow the path of truth,
To foster a spirit of effort,
To honour the principles of etiquette,
and to guard against impetuous courage.